About the Great Western Trail Authority

Photo of the Great Western Trail near Severance, Colorado

Mission Statement:

The Great Western Trail provides recreational and educational opportunities as well as alternative transportation modes that connect communities through the historic Great Western Railway right-of-way in rural Weld County.

The Great Western Trail Authority

The Great Western Trail Authority is a local government entity, created by an Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) between the towns of Windsor, Severance & Eaton to accept the donation of the abandoned Great Western Railway between the towns under the “railbanking” provisions of the 1983 amendments to the National Trails System Act. The Authority’s ongoing responsibility is to plan and construct a public trail on the right-of-way, maintain the trail corridor, and seek funding for the trail through grants and contributions.

The GWTA board consists of nine volunteer members. Each of the three IGA towns appoints three members to the board. Board meetings are open and held on the first Thursday of each month at the new Severance Town Hall, 3 South Timber Ridge Parkway, beginning at 5:00 pm.

Great Western Trail Authority Members
Tom Jones Chairman trjdvm@aol.com Windsor, Colorado
Andy Nagel Vice Chairman miragevideopro@aol.com Eaton, Colorado
Steve Bagley Secretary sbagley50@outlook.com Eaton, Colorado
Mike Ketterling Treasurer mketterling@kbnengineers.com Severance, Colorado
Liz Heid Board Member lheid@eatonco.org Eaton, Colorado
Steve Wrenn Board Member jswrenn@msn.com Windsor, Colorado
Michelle Duda Board Member michelle.duda@townofseverance.org Severance, Colorado
Brian White Board Member bwhite1@farmersagent.com Severance, Colorado
Paul Rennemeyer Board Member prennemeyer@windsorgov.com Windsor, Colorado

Aerial fly-over of the Great Western Trail, July, 2016.

Begins in Eaton, flying W to Severance, then SSW to Windsor.


Watch our video to learn more about the Great Western Trail
“Great Western Trail – Past, Present, Future” (Updated 6-15)